You don’t have to like it for it to be right

I was recently round a friend’s house and a few of us were watching TV when the advert for Barocca, an effervescent vitamin tablet, came on. I immediately went into a rant about how poor it was and that the execution was dire.

To my surprise, all my friends were smiling and singing along to it and started to tell me how great they thought it was.

This, to me, was like being a fly on the wall at an audience testing session and got me thinking about how easy it is to get hung up on producing amazing creative rather than just getting it right.

On paper it is not a great ad – if you were to give it to people to analyse I’m sure many would slate it – but my friends loved it.

This really shows the importance of planners and audience insights and staying true to the brand and product you are selling. The people who produced this ad obviously stuck to the brief religiously and delivered an ad that was spot on for the target demographic (which I was clearly not in).

The ad isn’t going to win awards and it isn’t going to be on the first page of a portfolio but for the demographic it is spot on, and that is really what it is all about.

~ by Simon Bocko on December 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
